Something Less

“But when they said, ‘Give us a king to lead us,’ this displeased Samuel; so he prayed to the LORD. And the LORD told him: ‘Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me as their king.’” 1 Samuel 8:6-7

So many times we look at the world around us and say, “If only I had that thing, person, status, [fill in the blank] then my life would be better.”  Instead of relying on God to be our everything we try to replace Him with the things of the world so that we would look more like the world.

If I can be open and honest I would say that the thing I seek out is success, so much so that I have created for myself an irrational fear of failure.  I try so hard to make life work and avoid failing that I forget that God is already working in it all, even in my failures.  I force open doors to things I think would be good for me so that I don’t have to fail.  All the while, I forget so quickly that I probably learn more through having failures.  I don’t let myself fully fall into the arms of God and let him pick me back up.

So let’s have a trust fall.  What in my life am I trying to replace God with?  What am I trying to make happen for myself rather than looking to what God would have for me?  It may even be something that seems good, but God has set out a plan for each of us that is truly good.  He knows the course which is best for us, and here’s the crazy part – it doesn’t look like the world.  The plan that he has doesn’t always make sense in worldly standards, but it doesn’t need to look like the world because God is bigger than the world.

So what am I making happen for myself?  What doors have I forced open that God needs to close?  I don’t want to settle for “Something Less.”

Download the new album "Kings" on iTunes

Download the new album “Kings” on iTunes

Something Less

Crowns, golden jewels, a golden rule
All things pretty.
Time will rust away and make decay
Of this city.

How did we become disarmed by the world’s charm?
I must confess we’ve settled for something less
Why’d we blur the lines, defined by the world’s eyes?
And failed to see that he is everything we need

Kings, empty oaths, prideful boasts,
So deceiving.
Fools, let it go. Don’t you know
The night is thieving?

How did we become disarmed by the world’s charm?
I must confess we’ve settled for something less
Why’d we blur the lines, defined by the world’s eyes?
And failed to see that he is everything we need

Take up all your treasure and toss it in the flames
All the sons and daughters, we’re the ones to blame

We’ve exchanged heaven

How did we become disarmed by the world’s charm?
I must confess we’ve settled for something less
Why’d we blur the lines, defined by the world’s eyes?
And failed to see that he is everything we need

Coopertheband - Kings

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

