Behind the Song: Don’t Wake the Dead

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” 2 Corinthians 5:17.  When we come into a relationship with Christ we find that we die to our old selves and are born new.  This new life is lived in the overwhelming transformation of Christ’s love.

Originally “Don’t Wake the Dead” was just a melody and guitar progression that had been sitting around for nearly 6 months when finally I put two and two together.  I had a poem that I wrote for one of my classes titled “Old Friend, I buried my world today” written in the style of a Shakespearean sonnet that seemed to fit the style perfectly.  I just changed up the lyrics a bit to better fit a song.  Here you go:

 

Old Friend, I buried my world today.
Good ridden. ‘Tis better to rot beneath clay
Than have a corpse follow me round.
The dead weight would drag me down
As I uselessly attempted to carry it along.
The thoughts and memories just didn’t belong
In a world so new – Love and Joy shouldn’t be
Tainted by this pessimistic view. For the Free
Don’t carry the Dead, and the Buried don’t cry
Up Old Woes upon the Living. Just as the Light
Cannot be overcome by the Dark, so the Dead
CANNOT defeat the Living. Instead,

Old Friend, I died to Myself today,
And I laid Me down in the grave.
My Friend, this is where You will stay.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

