Hello world!

This post is the first of many to come.  In this blog I’ll share with you all of my likes and dislikes, thoughts, and music updates.  To start off I thought I’d just give you a little bit of an insight to my life.

I’m a senior on my final semester at Belmont University and I can not wait to be graduated.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Belmont, but the thought of life with no more papers, quizzes, and tests just sounds way too awesome.  I’ve spent most of my time at Belmont writing.  I majored in Songwriting and minored in Creative Writing, so it seems like every week I have something new to write about, but I love it.

Music is my greatest passion.  I consider myself a fan of nearly all music, but am particularly fond of Indie Rock, Folk, and Singer/Songwriter.  Most of my influences come from these genres, such as: Sleeping At Last, Lovedrug, Mumford & Sons, Arcade Fire, and Future of Forestry just to name a few.  Some more mainstream bands that have been a major influences are bands like Coldplay, Muse, U2, Kings of Leon, and Radiohead, but probably the most influential/inspirational songwriter and band in my life has been Jon Foreman and Switchfoot.

I first started playing guitar late in my high school career.  I don’t think the late start put me too far behind the game just because when I did finally get into music I played hours on end.  I started out playing in a worship band called Mercy Driven.  We mostly played around local churches and camps.  Once I got to college I began working on my writing and recently released my first album, Venture, and am currently working towards my second.

So let’s move beyond music.  What else do I like?  Sports.  Every kind of sport you can think of.  Football and college basketball are my favorites!  Belmont Bruins Basketball, Tennessee Titans, and the Tennessee Volunteers Football.  These are the greatest teams to have ever existed.  If you disagree with me it’s probably best to keep it to yourself.  😉  I also love to go spelunking, rock climbing, any kind of water sport, snowboarding… basically if you can think of it, then I’ve probably participated in it.  Except I’m not very good at skateboarding.  I try to play lots of basketball and flag football to keep active.  Now that I’m getting older I need to be sure to take care of my figure.  If you ever want to play a game up pick-up just let me know and I’ll be there!

Music is my passion and my job.  Sports is my hobby and what entertains me most.  What do I live for?  I live for my love, my God.  I came into a relationship with God when I was just eight years old, and it was the greatest decision of my life.  He has been my guidance when I am wayward, my hope when hopeless, and has shown me more love than I can even comprehend.  He has been a Father to me.  I hope to live my life for Him.  I want to glorify him through my works, my actions, my passion, job, and hobbies.  I simply want the whole world to know the same love that He as shown to me.  If you ever want to talk more about this, feel free to shoot me an email and I’d be more than happy to share more of my story with you.

So that’s me in a nutshell, Cooper Brown.  I’ll be posting more as time goes by so I’d like to invite you to check in from time to time so you can get even more of an insight to me and my music.  Check out my Facebook page to find my music and I hope you enjoy!

Coop

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

